Cochise County Education Foundation in conjunction with Cochise County School Superintendent, Jacqui Clay will host its Annual Teacher of the Year Banquet on Friday, April 6, 2018 at 5 p.m. at the Thunder Mountain Activity Center Office located at Building 70525, Irwin Street, Fort Huachuca, Arizona 85613.

Those attending the banquet are being asked to enter the base through the Van Diemen Gate. The event will be attended by nearly 200 employees and their guest. This year’s theme will be “Teachers are Superheroes.” The ballroom will be decorated in colors of red and white with Gotham city centerpieces and action figures on the tables. There will be stand in cutouts of wonder woman and superman as well as Gotham city backdrop for photos. Guest are invited to come in their favorite Superhero costume or semi-formal attire.

The evening event will have last year’s “Teacher of the Year,” Gemma German as keynote speaker. William Benning will serve as Master of Ceremony. Rose Martinez, Johanna Scott and Moniek James are the evening hosts. Ike Dent videographer/photographer.  

This year’s “Teacher of the Year” banquet is sponsored by several community businesses and stakeholders. The event is expected to be a night to remember with 20 nominees for Teacher of the Year, 20 nominees for Special Projects and 11 new teacher recognitions. Our largest group of nominees. Join us in celebrating your special teacher! It will be an evening of jazz music, recognitions, awards and prizes, a sumptuous dinner provided by TMAC and fun for all employees of Cochise County Schools.

President Deb Whiting of Cochise County Education Foundation and Superintendent Jacqui Clay will thank teachers for their dedication and support of education throughout Cochise County. The goal of the banquet is to celebrate our dedicated professional educators and award one nominee as 2018 Cochise County “Teacher of the Year”. For they are truly “Superheroes!” The banquet also helps to strengthen friendships between colleagues, it is a gift that keeps on giving.

We are blessed to have teachers that are dedicated to the profession, care about student success and enjoy teaching. Thanks to all nominees for their true devotion to education.

This year all nominees will receive a medallion. New teachers will be recognized and receive a certificate to go with the presented medallion. Special Projects nominees will receive a certificate as well as their medallion. However the top three winners will receive a plaque, along with their medallion and a certificate. The teacher of the Year nominees will each receive a special award, a monetary award and their medallion, the finalist are eligible to win 2018 Cochise County Teacher of the Year.

The cost to attend this special event is $35. You may register at point and pay by clicking on                                            

For further information, you may contact Johanna Scott, Administrative Assistant / Outreach Coordinator at (520) 432-8952.        


Ivonne Amaya - Berean Academy

Kelly Blankenship - Huachuca Mountain Elementary School

Jessica Castillo - Stevenson Elementary School

Jim Hirshouer - Pearce Elementary School

Dora Mendoza - Sarah Marley Elementary School

Joyce Mayberry - St. David Elementary School

Deborah Paul - Huachuca City Elementary School

Karen Troncale - Pomerene Elementary School


Maria Castillo – Center for Academic Success #4

Lorie Errhalt - Joyce Clark Middle School

Lee Ann Howell - Colonel Smith Middle School

James Martin - Ray Borane Middle School

Rhea Morales - Lowell Jr. High School

Kathy Murphy - Bowie Middle School


Lee Bottleberghe - Douglas High School

Jill Brown - Buena High School

Carrie Duerk - Buena High School

Katrina Jansson - Benson High School

Lee Ann Miller - Willcox High School

Wesley Wood - Buena High School


Benson High School

Brenda Kurtz

Ben Rodriguez

Laurie Taylor

Berean Academy

Brian Chez

Buena High School

Cynthia Lotts

Colonel Smith Middle School

Annette Hathaway

Kellie Hillenga

Suzanne Jennings

Lauren Merkwan

Andrea Weigle

General Myers

Bette Gallant

Joyce Clark Middle

Nicole Miller

Lowell Jr. High

Jen McBeth

Pearce Elementary

Jim Hirshouer

Karen Hishouer

St. David School

Veronica Howe

Melanie Larson

Jennifer Delgado

Casey Willingham

Cochise County Detention Facility

Arlene Cumberbatch


Francisco Barrios, Bisbee High School

Deputy Forest Hauser, Bisbee, Valley Union & Willcox High School

Rebecca Lopez, General Myer

Angela Lucero, Coronado

Nicole Miller, Joyce Clark Middle School

Caitlin Monrel, Benson Middle

Michelle Scherr Center for Academic Success, Sierra Vista

Lea Staten, Buena High School

Pricilla Vega, Berean Academy

Rebekah Wright, St. David High School

Shelby Wright, Town and Country Elementary


Load comments